Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

The Dell Vikings - For Collectors Only (1991) (Lossless)

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

The Dell Vikings - For Collectors Only (1991) (Lossless)


The Dell Vikings - For Collectors Only (1991) (Lossless)

EAC Rip | 2CD | FLAC - Log - Cue | Scans | Release: 1991 | 508 MB

Genre: R&B, Doo Wop | Label: laP

This really isn't for collectors only -- it is the only single collection of the group's stuff that shows the full range of this sadly underrated vocal group. As it is, its mere existence as a mid-priced double CD, alongside the presence of the two best-of compilations from MCA and Mercury, makes collecting the best Dell Vikings material extremely complicated. Collectables Records got access to the complete recordings that the original group made for Fee Bee Records, which covers their history from 1956 through 1957, overlapping with the history of the Mercury version of the group. This includes the hit version of "Come Go With Me," as well as "Whispering Bells" (both of which appear on MCA's best-of in those very same versions) and their other early tracks. Collectables also got access to an extraordinary body of outtakes -- a magnificent fast version of "I'm Spinning" that's completely different from the version that appears on both the MCA and Mercury best-of discs. There are distinctive outtakes of "Willette" and oddities such as the Joey Biscoe single "What Made Maggie Run," on which the group sang backup in a hurried attempt to get them out before the public again after that first hit. More important are tracks like "Uh Uh Baby," a fast jump number that shows the group at about its rockingest and nimblest, with a killer guitar solo courtesy of Joe Lopes. Other highlights include radiant outtakes of "Girl, Girl" and "Cold Feet" (done a cappella), little snippets of session chatter (amazing the stuff survived 40 years), and rehearsal and audition versions of the group's songs and generally the fullest account possible of the history of the Fee Bee Records version of the group that you'll ever see.


CD 1

01 Come Go With Me

02 When I Come Home

03 I'm Spinning

04 Over the Rainbow

05 Girl, Girl

06 Uh Uh Baby (aka Baby Let Me Be)

07 How Can I Find True Love

08 Willette

09 Cold Feet

10 Marguetite

11 There I Go

12 What Made Maggie Run

13 Little Girl

14 Senorita

15 Don't Be a Fool

16 I'm Spinning

17 Down By the Stream

18 Yours

CD 2

01 Whispering Bells

02 You Send Me

03 Woke Up This Morning

04 In the Still of the Night

05 Little Billy Boy

06 Willette

07 Cry Baby

08 How Can I Find True Love

09 The White Cliffs of Dover

10 You Said You Love Me

11 I Want to Marry You

12 Cold Feet

13 Watching the Moon

14 Down in Bermuda

15 Understand

16 Heaven and Paradise

17 Girl Girl

18 Come Go With Me





Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this