Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Secret Machines - Discography (2004 - 2008) FLAC

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Secret Machines - Discography (2004 - 2008) FLAC


Secret Machines - Discography (2004 - 2008) FLAC

3 Albums | EAC Rip | FLAC(tracks) + Cue + Log | File Size: 935.35 MB

Genre: Rock | Label: Reprise / TSM

The Secret Machines are a three-piece American alternative rock band. Originally from Dallas, Texas before moving to New York City, they describe their band as space rock. The original lineup consisted of two brothers, Brandon and Benjamin Curtis, and Josh Garza. In March 2007, Benjamin left the band, and was replaced by Phil Karnats.

Before forming The Secret Machines the members played in various Dallas bands such as: UFOFU, Captain Audio, Comet and When Babies Eat Pennies, but perhaps the most significant was Tripping Daisy. Captain Audio was formed by Garza and vocalist/guitarist/chief songwriter Regina Chellew in the late 90s as a two-piece noise duo. Brandon and occasionally Ben Curtis joined shortly thereafter as the original duo began to head toward a more standard rock sound. In a few months the band was getting regular local press and within a little over a year they had recorded and released the EP My Ears Are Ringing But My Heart's OK (1999) and the full-length LUXURY or Whether It Is Better To Be Loved than Feared (2000) to positive reviews. Shortly after the release of LUXURY the band went on an extended hiatus and eventually disbanded when the boys headed for New York, leaving Chellew behind in Dallas to form the band Chao and later joining indie pop outfit The Happy Bullets.

Captain Audio is essentially the same band as the Secret Machines, with the exception of Chellew. Sonically the groups are very similar, much more so than any of the members' other former bands. Although Captain Audio is a bit more prone to experimentation and sound collage and the Secret Machines are much more a standard indie rock band, the Captain Audio records form the template that the Curtis brothers built upon when they headed for New York. In the liner notes for Captain Audio's LUXURY, all of the additional musicians who played on the album are credited simply as "Secret Machines".

The band went to Chicago first, where they recorded their EP, September 000, six weeks after forming, before continuing to New York. The EP didn't sell well, but remained a hit on indie radio while "Marconi's Radio" and "Breathe" are fan favourites.

In 2004, The Secret Machines released their first full length CD - Now Here Is Nowhere. Their second EP, The Road Leads Where It's Led, was released on 7 June 2005. The song "Nowhere Again", from the their debut album, was used in promotional spots for American during its launch, and appeared in the 2006 videogame Driver: Parallel Lines.[1]

"Nowhere Again" is the band's biggest hit to date, being played at nearly every show since its conception.

Ten Silver Drops, their second album, leaked onto file sharing websites following the release of their lead single "Alone, Jealous and Stoned" in the UK.

The album once again did not sell well but garnered favorable reviews.

In 2006, the band did a headlining In-the-Round tour.

Benjamin Curtis left the band on March 3, 2007 to focus full time on his new band, School of Seven Bells. The news was posted by Brandon Curtis on the Secret Machines' messageboard.

After Ben's departure from the band, Secret Machines played two shows in New York, one at the Annex, and the other at the newly opened Highline Ballroom. At these shows, the band played mostly new material to be put on their next album. They included two new members: Blasco (Interpol's touring keyboardist) on guitar, keyboards, and bass, and ex-Tripping Daisy member Phil E. Karnats on guitar. Since these shows, Karnats has become the official guitarist of the band, replacing Ben.

The band finished recording quickly during May 2007 and released a new, self-titled album in the United States of America on October 14, 2008.[3] The online release notice features a free

They take Pink Floyd psychedelia, Led Zeppelin stomp, and The Who-inspired choruses and charge them full of big-rock beats, atmospheric keyboards and all kinds of electronic whooshes." Rolling Stone

Now Here is Nowhere 2004


Now Here is Nowhere is the first full-length album by Dallas rock band The Secret Machines. It was released on May 18, 2004. The songs on the album are reminiscent of Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin, with krautrock and shoegazing influences.


1. "First Wave Intact" 9:00

2. "Sad and Lonely" 4:40

3. "The Leaves Are Gone" 4:04

4. "Nowhere Again" 4:16

5. "The Road Leads Where It's Led" 4:41

6. "Pharaoh's Daughter" 5:45

7. "You Are Chains" 5:49

8. "Light's On" 3:30

9. "Now Here is Nowhere" 8:52


Ten Silver Drops 2006

Ten Silver Drops is the name of the second full-length album by the American rock band The Secret Machines. It was released exclusively through the iTunes Music Store on February 28, 2006, while the street date for the CD was April 25, 2006. The first single from the album, "Alone, Jealous and Stoned", was released in the UK on January 16, 2006, and in the U.S. shortly thereafter. On January 29, 2006 Ten Silver Drops leaked onto file sharing websites following the release of their lead single in the UK.


1. "Alone, Jealous and Stoned" 6:46

2. "All at Once (It's Not Important)" 4:37

3. "Lightning Blue Eyes" 5:31

4. "Daddy's in the Doldrums" 8:23

5. "I Hate Pretending" 5:15

6. "Faded Lines" 4:59

7. "I Want to Know if It's Still Possible" 5:00

8. "1,000 Seconds" 5:15

Secret Machines 2008


Secret Machines is the eponymous third album from alternative group The Secret Machines. The band self-released the follow-up to 2006's Ten Silver Drops in the US on October 14 and is slated for release in Europe for Mid-January 2009. The album was recorded in New York City and produced by the band and Brandon Mason. It is their first album to feature the band's new guitarist Phil Karnats, who has replaced Benjamin Curtis after he left the group in March 2007.


1. "Atomic Heels" - 3:40

2. "Last Believer, Drop Dead" - 5:32

3. "Have I Run Out" - 7:40

4. "Underneath the Concrete" - 3:51

5. "Now You're Gone" - 5:22

6. "The Walls Are Starting to Crack" - 6:37

7. "I Never Thought to Ask" - 4:06

8. "The Fire Is Waiting" - 11:09

Do not Be a Passer-By on My Topics! but Interact & Leave a Comment!

Please, send email to: nguyenthnh98@gmail.com if all links are dead.



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this