Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Mr_Dupri

Oreos, are vegan.

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Screen-Shot-2013-12-29-at-7.31.20-PM.png

This might come as a shock to you, but everyone’s favorite sandwich cookie, Oreos, are vegan. Well, sort of… The question as to whether or not Oreos are, in fact, vegan is a little tricky. Getting to the bottom of this mystery requires taking a good look at what is in an Oreo. Once the ingredients of Oreos have been thoroughly analyzed and broken down, I’ll leave it up to you to decide if they truly are vegan or not.

The Creamy Center

Perhaps the most defining characteristic of an Oreo cookie is its creamy center. Now, right off the bat, this might lead you to assume that Oreos are not vegan, because after all, they have cream filling. However, the “cream” in an Oreo is not cream at all. It’s actually made from vegetable oils and soy – still not that good for you, but not dairy.

The Cookie

So, we know the cream filling is safe, but what about the cookie? Well, the cookie itself does not contain any dairy, either. This might come as a surprise because Oreos have a slightly buttery taste to them, but the cookie is just flour, sugar and oils.

Share this post


Link to post

Leave feedback

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...